Story challenge: Letter “G” – gong

http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/08/14/story-challenge-letter-g/

 

Story challenge: letter G from FRIZZTEXT .

 

The letter “G” took me to the word GONG.

My father grew up in Indonesia. He and my grandparents lived quite a long time there. They went back to the Netherlands  just before World War II. My father never talked about his childhood or his life before and after the war. I was born a year after the ending of the war.

Moving to South Africa must have been very hard on the family. My parents had only two trunks with all their possessions in it. One of the things they took with them was a GONG which had been in my father’s family for a long time. After my father’s death my mother kept it and after her death I could pick some of the precious belongings.  One is this GONG. We used it specially when we had visitors for dinner to call them to the table.

 

 

 

18 comments on “Story challenge: Letter “G” – gong

    • Yes it is really very precious. As you can see my father gave it an extra wooden stand because it could easily fall over if you don’t hold it with your one hand while hitting the bell.

    • I have an old scrap book from my father with old photos in it and my grandmother describes some of the things under the photos. Some photos are of the place they lived and people who helped them at home. Very interesting. My grandfather was a train driver in Indonesia.

      • Mine didn’t either. Recently I’ve toyed with the idea of working on my family tree to try to learn more. When I can find the time I think I will.

      • I feel so sad that I haven’t asked questions about the past while my parents were alive. Now I can do nothing about it. That is why I am writing down all the things I can remember and put it with my photos.

Leave a comment