FWF Free Write Friday

 

#FWF Free Write Friday: Childhood Gift

I still remember my best childhood gift. A sleeping doll with a soft green dress!

She was so beautiful I could not keep my eyes from her. When I held her in my arms, like a baby, she would close her eyes. Then when I held her up-right she would look at me with bright blue glassy doll’s eyes.

In 1952 my family moved to South Africa from the Netherlands. It was in the beginning of February when the journey started. My 6th birthday was going to be on the ship!

Next door to our home lived two sisters who, to me as a nearly six-year-old, looked very old. They were our neighbors and my parent’s friends. A day before our departure they came over and told me that they had a present for me because they won’t see me on my birthday later in February.  I opened my present,  and guess what? In the box, all dressed up was this most beautiful doll.  Her body was soft and her head, hands and parts of her legs were made from porcelain . Her face was beautifully painted and then those blue glass eyes! I will never forget her eyes. She even had on some white shoes and socks

I really loved this doll so much. I never like to give it to my sisters to play with. A year or two later my older sister played with it outside. She forgot to bring it in and the dew ruined my pretty dolls face. She   was never the beauty again.

 

free write friday kellie elmore

 

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/08/30/fwf-free-write-friday-childhood-gift/

 

11 comments on “FWF Free Write Friday

    • Yes, such is live! She also had these very blond nylon hair. I have forgotten to write about it also. While I was walking Trompie I thought: oh no What about the long hair!

  1. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday; Fall Word Bank | terry1954

Leave a Reply

