It’s write easy

  1. I cried and cried
  2. I had just one chance
  3. Grandmother/grandfather once/often told me
  4. Things I regret
  5. I remember with fondness….

October 12,2012

Use one as starting point

I took I remember with fondness…

I remember with fondness…

the last days while my mother was still alive. She was such a soft, good hearted person.

The last few months my mother lived in a home for the elderly. She really enjoyed being with a group of people her own age. I had the opportunity to visit her every afternoon after school.  I was still teaching in Potgietersrus while looking after my sister’s place in Naboomspruit. This was in 2006.My mother was in the home for the elderly in Naboom. Each afternoon she would  sit outside, waiting for my visit. We would go for a stroll down to the gate and back, while chatting about all the things that happened that day. She could not remember much because she had Alzheimer’s disease. After the stroll we would go to her room where her bed was . I would cut her fruit of the day so she could eat it. She loved it if I cut her orange in eight slices/wedges. She would then suck out the juice and eat the orange from the peel. ( Just  the same way she always did  to us while still young.) Then I would see to it that she eats her small cup of yogurt. While eating we would go on chatting about small events that happened in the past.

Then the worst thing happened. She got big ulcers from all the sitting. She never moaned about anything. She had to go to hospital and they operated twice to try and clean up the big mess.. I knew it was hurting  her so much but she still did not complain. She tried to do everything the doctors and therapist asked her to do. She would always ask if she was doing the right thing. She always wanted to please everybody! During the last few days while she still recognized us I could just think of her as a strong woman with so much pain she was hiding and I really felt so much love and fondness for her.

Late one evening the hospital called to say that we should come because it wasn’t going well ,they feared the worst.. I went that night at about 11pm( I had to drive from Naboom to Pretoria, about 200km). I sat with her that night and suddenly her mind was clear.  She asked me when my father would come. She wanted to see him(he had passed away in 1993 ). She also asked where my older sister was(my sister was still working in England at that time) Those were the last words she had spoken to me. After that night she just deteriorated , she still lived for about 2 more weeks before passing away.

I will always remember these last days with my mother in fondness.

 

The following double page has the last photos of my mother on it.

Luckily I have her with all three sisters!

We did not do a quick writing session because we are changing the way of doing the writing.

8 comments on “It’s write easy

    • Thank you, it is very special. The photos are the last ones with my mother and my sisters. It was very hard to put my thoughts in words but now it is all written down.

  1. This was a lovely and very special post. You and your Mom must have been pretty close and this comes through in your writing and the scap book pages. Beautiful tribute.

    • Thank you. This has been in my heart a long time. Did not really have anyone to tell it to. Now that it’s written down I feel much lighter in my mind and heart. Even the ladies and gentleman could feel how I felt when reading it to them.

Leave a Reply

